top of page

The Race


“It’s just not fair, teacher!”

“What makes you say that?”

“Everybody in a big group all together like this. I don’t have a chance in the world!”

“I see. And how would you change things?”

“I would separate us so we get a fair chance.”

“Oh you would, would you?”

“Yes, I would. The boys can have their race and the girls can have theirs and then it will

be fair.”

“Separate competitions. Hmm. That means we would need to organize more time in the

schedule, prepare a second prize...”

“How hard could that be? And think of the good it would do!”

“And what good is that?”

“Haven’t you been listening? A fair chance! I have to work twice as hard just to finish the

race! I’m a good runner, teacher. I should be able to win!”

“What’s stopping you then?”

“Listen... I work and work and I run and run. I practice every day. I train and I sweat and

I push myself every day...”

“Then you should embrace this as an opportunity. A challenge! Keep putting in the effort

and you may surprise yourself and beat everyone to the finish line.”

“You don’t get it. I can’t win like this. It’s not fair...”

“Who told you that you could never win?”

“Nobody had to tell me. I just know that I can’t.”

“Well, you’re right, if that’s your attitude.”

“It’s not about my attitude, teacher. It’s an unfair-”

“You don’t have to compete, you know. Nobody is forcing you. There are plenty of other

things you can do at the bazaar if you don’t want to run. I hear there is a very nice pie-”

“But I do want to race! I just want a chance to win!”

“Then run faster.”

“So that’s it? You won’t split us up?”

“No, I don’t believe splitting you up would solve anything. Our progenitors fought for

many years to achieve human equality. Dividing the competition by gender just to make

it easier for you to win seems like a step in the wrong direction, don’t you agree?”

“Actually, no. I think our ancestors had the right idea keeping us separate. But whatever.

It’s pretty obvious you’re not going to change your mind.”

“Here’s a thought. If this year’s race turns out like the last few, maybe instead of

pondering the fairness of it all you could show some true sportsmanship and congratulate

the winner. If you’re nice to her maybe she’ll give you some training advice.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page