top of page

DaiKaiju Diaries


Day 302

Japan Front/Unit 7

“We see the air is thick

Between the ocean and the forest mist

This blackened ocean calling for us

Our minds are drawn to hate's eternal storm

The being screams its name, it howls for more

This spawning creature rises to our shore.”

“Cthulhu” – Iced Earth

Jesus I’ve been out here for almost 10 months; fighting the Kaiju, but mostly fighting the urge to go AWOL. Here in Japan is where mankind encountered the first one back in the winter of 2017. I lived here for 3 ½ years when I was a kid, but I always knew I would come back. Who’d have thought this would be the reason?

Meals consist mostly of bread and canned vegetables. A fish isn’t in the rations anymore, whatever fish stocks the Kaiju haven’t depleted, have been affected by the toxic trail they live behind them. One in particular comes back for the attack again and again: we call him “Kappa” after the mythological demon – looks just like him. It scares the living hell out of me. When the gunfire and mortar rounds light up his face at night, it almost looks as if he’s smiling directly at me, as if he knows that we'll meet each time in my nightmares. When he lets out that scream, that ear shattering scream, that’s when I wake up covered in sweat. The fact that it was just a dream only comforts me for a moment and then I remember that he’s out there waiting in the black abyss of the ocean.

Waiting to strike again.

They say that nuclear energy and radiation created the Kaiju. Ironic. What was to be our salvation ended up creating our doom. Different religions have their own interpretations,some see it as a sign of righteous judgment being passed on mankind while others worshiped them as gods.

But all affected by the creatures have the same consensus: this is hell.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page